Skip to main content

Workshops

Each Lab is valid for the acquisition of 1 CFU.

.

For 2022-2023, the following labs will be activated:

.

Laboratory of environmental and funerary archaeo-entomology (FLEA) - Prof. Stefano Vanin

Start and Times: will be announced as soon as possible

Teaching Mode:The workshop will be conducted in presence and can accommodate 3 students. Attendance is required for blocks of work of not less than 2 hours.

Where: The workshop will take place at the DISTAV premises, located in the Science Building (Corso Europa, 26 - 7th floor)

.

Contents: the workshop will focus on the triage and identification of insects from archaeological excavations (mainly from crypts and tombs) related to contexts framed between the 15th and 19th centuries.

For more information and registration:

Prof. Stefano Vanin - stefano.vanin@unige.it

ASTRALAB Archaeology and rural and landscape history - Prof. Anna Stagno

Start and Times: will be announced as soon as possible

For more information and registration:

Prof. Anna Stagno - anna.stagno@unige.it

Laboratory of Classical Archaeology - Prof. Antonino Facella

Start: March 14, 2023

Time: Tuesdays 3-7 pm. Additional dates and times may be arranged with participants

.

Where: at the LaBB (Laboratorio di Paletnologia e Archeologia Medievale "Luigi Bernabò Brea"), located in the courtyard between Via Balbi 2 and 4.

For more information and registration: 

.

Prof. Antonino Facella - antonino.facella@unige.it

Laboratory of Christian and Medieval Archaeology - Prof. Fabrizio Benente

Start and Times: will be announced as soon as possible

For more information and registration: 

Prof. Fabrizio Benente - fabrizio.benente@unige.it

Laboratory of Archaeozoology - Prof. Stefano Schiaparelli and Prof. Sara Ferrando

Start and Times: will be announced as soon as possible

For more information and registration: 

.

Prof. Stefano Schiaparelli - stefano.schiaparelli@unige.it

Prof. Sara Ferrando - sara.ferrando@unige.it 

 

Laboratory of instrumental diagnostics applied to archaeology - Prof. Laura Gaggero and Prof. Maurizio Ferretti

Start and Times: will be announced as soon as possible

For more information and registration: 

.

Prof. Laura Gaggero - laura.gaggero@unige.it

Prof. Maurizio Ferretti - ferretti@chimica.unige.it

Laboratory of Archaeological Research Methodologies - Prof. Silvia Pallecchi

Start and Times: will be announced as soon as possible

For more information and registration: 

.

Prof. Silvia Pallecchi - silvia.pallecchi@unige.it

Laboratory of Palethnology - Prof. Fabio Negrino

Start and Times: will be announced as soon as possible

Learning mode: in-person

Where: activities will take place in-presence at the LaBB (Laboratory of Palethnology and Medieval Archaeology "Luigi Bernabò Brea"), located in the courtyard between Via Balbi 2 and 4.

Contents: Activities will be carried out on washing, arranging, classifying and drawing prehistoric, lithic and ceramic artifacts. Field trips, as well as visits to collections and museums, will also be part of the workshop activities.

For more information and registration: 

.

Prof. Fabio Negrino - fabio.negrino@unige.it

 

Laboratory of Archaeological Survey - Prof. Domenico Sguerso and Prof. Silvia Pallecchi

Start and Times: will be announced as soon as possible

Where:The workshop will take place partly at Villa Cambiaso and partly at Balbi 4.

Contents: The Laboratory of Archaeological Surveying (LaRA) focuses on the topic of metric surveying and its digitization, with application to the specific archaeological context. The objective, in direct correlation with the "Geomatics for Archaeology" course, is to provide students with the basic skills to design a survey campaign, acquire data in the field, and finally post-process them in the form of metrically reliable three-dimensional models.

For more information and registration: 

Prof. Domenico Sguerso - domenico.sguerso@unige.it

Prof. Silvia Pallecchi - silvia.pallecchi@unige.it

Workshop the Body of the Gods - Prof. Elisabetta Villari

Start: Friday, February 24, 2023, 2 p.m., Classroom 1 (Balbi Street 2)

Mode: Mixed in-person and distance workshop - maximum 15 enrolled. For information and registration: evillari@hotmail.com

Composed of 8 meetings of 3 hours, one of which is introductory, the others involve outings, visits to Museums in Genoa and outside Genoa, visits to sites etc.
. The detailed program is determined in the first lesson.

For more information and registration: 

.

Prof.ssa Elisabetta Villari - elisabetta.villari@unige.it

Laboratory of Archaeology of Architecture - Prof. Anna Boato and Prof. Daniela Pittaluga

Start and Times: will be announced as soon as possible

For more information and registration: 

.

Prof. Anna Boato - anna.boato@unige.it

Prof. Daniela Pittaluga - daniela.pittaluga@unige.it